Thursday, August 02, 2012

Hugo Shakedown

Hope you got your votes in. Here are my choices:

(Addendum: September 4, 2012...updated to indicate winners...)

For Best Novel:
01: Among Others; Jo Walton (Tor) (WINNER)
02: Leviathan Wakes; James S.A. Corey (Orbit)
03: Embassytown; China Mieville (Macmillan/Del Rey)
04: A Dance with Dragons; George R.R. Martin (Bantam)
05: Deadline; Mira Grant (Orbit)

For Best Novella:
01: The Man Who Bridged the Mist; Kij Johnson (WINNER)
02: Kiss Me Twice; Mary Robinette Kowal
03: The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary; Ken Liu
04: Silently and Very Fast; Catherynne M. Valente
05: The Ice Owl; Carolyn Ives Gilman
06: Countdown; Mira Grant

For Best Novelette:
01: What We Found; Geoff Ryman
02: Fields of Gold; Rachel Swirsky
03: The Copenhagen Interpretation; Paul Cornell
04: Six Months, Three Days; Charlie Jane Anders (WINNER)
05: Ray of Light; Brad R. Torgersen

For Best Short Story:
01: The Paper Menagerie; Ken Liu (WINNER)
02: The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees; E. Lily Yu
03: The Homecoming; Mike Resnick
04: Movement; Nancy Fulda
05: Shadow War of the Night Dragons: Book One: The Dead City: Prologue; John Scalzi

For Best Related Work:
01: The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition; John Clute, Peter Nicholls, David Langford, and Graham Sleight (WINNER)
02: Writing Excuses, Season 6; Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, Jordan Sanderson
03: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Googles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature; Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers
04: Wicked Girls; Seanan McGuire
05: Jar Jar Binks Must Die...and Other Observations About Science Fiction Movies; Daniel M. Kimmel

For Best Graphic Story:
01: Schlock Mercenary: Force Multiplication; Howard Tayler and Travis Walton
02: Locke and Key Volume 04: Keys to the Kingdom; Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez
03: Fables Vol. 15: Rose Red; Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham
04: Digger; Ursula Venon (WINNER)
05: The Unwritten Volume 04: Leviathan; Mike Carey and Peter Gross

For Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form):
01: Game of Thrones (Season 01) (WINNER)
02: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 02
03: Source Code
04: Hugo
05: Captain America: The First Avenger

For Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form):
01: The Doctor's Wife/Dr. Who (WINNER)
02: Remedial Chaos Theory/Community
03: The Girl Who Waited/Dr. Who
04: A Good Man Goes to War/Dr. Who
05: The Drink Tank

For Best Editor (Short Form):
01: Neil Clarke
02: John Joseph Adams
03: Jonathan Strhan
04: Sheila Williams (WINNER)
05: Stanley Schmidt

For Best Editor (Long Form):
01: Betsy Wollheim (WINNER)
02: Lou Anders
03: Patrick Nielsen Hayden
04: Liz Gorinsky
05: Anne Lesley Groell

For Best Professional Artist:
01: Stephan Martiniere
02: John Picacio (WINNER)
03: Bob Eggleton
04: Michael Komarck
05: Dan dos Santos

For Best Semiprozine:
01: Lightspeed
02: New York Review of Science Fiction
03: Locus (WINNER)
04: Interzone
05: Apex Magazine

For Best Fanzine:
01: SF Signal (of course) (WINNER)
02: Banana Wings
03: The Drink Tank
04: File 770
05: Journey Planet

For Best Fan Writer:
01: Jim C. Hines (WINNER)
02: Steven H. Silver
03: Christopher J. Garcia
04: James Bacon
05: Claire Brialey

For Best Fan Artist:
01: Brad W. Foster
02: Maurine Starkey (WINNER)
03: Spring Schoenhuth
04: Randall Munroe
05: Steve Stiles

For Best Fancast:
01: The SF Signal Podcast; John DeNardo, J.P. Frantz, Patrick Hester (did you expect anything else?)
02: The Coode Street Podcast; Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe
03: StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith
04: SF Squeecast; Lynne M. Thomas, Seanan McGuire, Paul Cornell, Elizabeth Bear, Catherynne M. Valente (WINNER)
05: Galactic Suburbia; Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Andrew Finch

For The John W. Campbell Award:
01: Stina Leicht
02: Mur Lafferty
03: Karen Lord
04: E. Lily Yu (WINNER)
05: Brad R. Torgersen

No comments: